Concert Review: Eminem and Rihanna – “The Monster Tour – Metlife Stadium!

Before the concert on Sunday, I vowed to myself that I wasn’t going to read any concert reviews, Twitter exchanges, Instagram videos…nada. I was going to this concert fresh as a daisy. With self-restraint I didn’t know I had (You know, there’s a theme with today’s posts and my capabilities.), I had the best freaking time!

https://www.instagram.com/p/r0Q16-PIuO/

20140817_191253

One thing that I felt slighted with the two double-header tours I went to (Monumentour and The Native Summer Tour) was that the pairs didn’t come together for at least one song. I had fun regardless, but it would have been cool to see everyone combining their super powers for a kick-ass performance. I REALLY didn’t need to worry about that with Rihanna and Eminem from the get-go. In the video to start off the show, we see Rih entering the prison (medical?) facility to get Marshall, while our favorite psycho-rapper bitched about dry cereal. It was HILARIOUS. I have the whole scene recorded, but I’m going to keep it off the Internet. Just in case, yanno?

This is how Em and Rih came out. Note: My shortness was used to get me closer to the stage. YAY!

This is how Em and Rih came out. Note: My shortness was used to get me closer to the stage. YAY!

The Setlist: (Source: Setlist.fm)

There were four sections to this show and over 45+ songs. Which meant, high-energy performances (EM!), hot and sexy choreography (Rihanna), but there were a few songs that I WISHED were performed in full. “Cinderella Man” and “Rude Boy” are the two songs that come to mind, but that’s okay.

Rihanna:  I love all of Rihanna‘s music, especially the “Unapologetic” album. However, I never thought I would want to go to a concert of hers, especially if she was the only headliner. This show proved me wrong (Which I’m totally okay with!) and that her charisma is enough to entertain us. While in some other reviews they claimed that the artist seemed “sleepy”, this was totally not the case while I was in the standing section. Everyone was engaged with Rihanna and knew all of her music. There was plenty of dancing from the audience members, plenty of “THROW YOUR DIAMONDS UP!” (my phone hit a few skulls while recording, SORRY!), and a lot of singing-along during the slow numbers. Plus, she puts on one hell of a show with the grinding and crotch-grabbing. Yes, there was tons of crotch-grabbing, lol.  But to bring it back to my point, hell yeah, I will definitely go and see her after this!

https://www.instagram.com/p/r09fZDvImX/

Eminem: Guys, I am SO ANGRY. SO ANGRY. I was so pumped during all of Em’s songs, that I am pissed at myself for never getting tickets to his previous concerts. I have loved Eminem since I was 11 and I am super jealous of the countries abroad who get him all the time during festival seasons. Eminem had a LOT of energy to throw around. I don’t think I saw him gasping for air even during “Rap God”. “Rap God” is a fucking hard song to even attempt to rap while following the lyrics, let alone hopping across from left to right. The show was even better being with the most die-hard fans, because they were truly feeding him back the love he has earned. One of my highlights was “Criminal” and “Like Toy Soldiers”, songs I thought would be on the back burner, due to this short-time span of his set. But I shouldn’t have let that fooled me. While some of his major songs were cut in half, the rapper made sure that you were going to be entertained. He didn’t stop there. Eminem made sure to crack jokes on his own sobriety, telling the crowd to get high and drunk for him. Since, yanno, he’s been in recovery for a few years now. While that gave us some aspect of his vulnerability, songs like “Love the Way You Lie” and “Stan” pushed through to show us more of him, especially with his partner, Rih, crooning alongside.

https://www.instagram.com/p/r2p_4bvIvC/

20140817_224142

Eminem and Rihanna

  • Numb (Rihanna cover)
  • No Love (Eminem cover)
  • Run This Town (JAY Z cover)
  • Live Your Life (T.I. cover)
  • Crack a Bottle (Eminem cover)
  • Won’t Back Down (Eminem cover)

Rihanna

  • What Now (Rihanna cover)
  • Phresh Out the Runway (Rihanna cover)
  • Birthday Cake (Rihanna cover)
  • Talk That Talk (Rihanna cover)
  • Rude Boy (Rihanna cover)
  • What’s My Name (Rihanna cover)
  • Pour It Up (Rihanna cover)
  • Cockiness (Love It) (Rihanna cover)
  • Jump (Rihanna cover)
  • Umbrella (Rihanna cover)
  • All of the Lights (Kanye West cover)
  • Rockstar 101 (Rihanna cover)
  • Only Girl (in the World) (Rihanna cover)
  • Where Have You Been (Rihanna cover)
  • Stay (Rihanna cover)
  • Love the Way You Lie (Part II) (Rihanna cover)

Eminem

  • Love the Way You Lie (Eminem cover)
  • 3 a.m. (Eminem cover)
  • Square Dance (Eminem cover)
  • Business (Eminem cover)
  • Kill You (Eminem cover)
  • Evil Deeds (Eminem cover)
  • Rap God (Eminem cover)
  • Marshall Mathers (Eminem cover)
  • Just Don’t Give a Fuck (Eminem cover)
  • Still Don’t Give a Fuck (Eminem cover)
  • Criminal (Eminem cover)
  • The Way I Am (Eminem cover)
  • Airplanes pt. 2 (B.O.B. cover)
  • Stan (Eminem cover)
  • Sing for the Moment (Eminem cover)
  • Like Toy Soldiers (Eminem cover)
  • Forever (Drake cover)
  • Berzerk (Eminem cover)
  • ‘Till I Collapse (Eminem cover)
  • Cinderella Man (Eminem cover)
  • My Name Is (Eminem cover)
  • The Real Slim Shady (Eminem cover)
  • Without Me (Eminem cover)
  • Not Afraid (Eminem cover)

Rihanna

  • Diamonds (Rihanna cover)
  • We Found Love (Rihanna cover)

Eminem

  • Lose Yourself (Eminem cover)
  • Encore:
  • The Monster (Eminem cover)

This was my last concert for the Summer of 2014! Hopefully I’ll get to more soon enough.

Leave a comment